28 Mar 2011

New7Wonders of Nature

No Comments Australia

Uluru and the Great Barrier Reef are two of the 28 finalists that you can vote for in New7Wonders of Nature‘s campaign.

The campaign highlights and celebrates the beauty of our planet, thus fostering greater respect for the earth’s fragile natural equilibrium. The motto for this campaign is: “If we want to save anything, we first need to truly appreciate it” (Bernard Weber, Founder New7Wonders). Because we often only act when we are about to lose something precious that has grown dear to us.

Uluru (Ayers Rock) is one of Australia’s most recognisable natural icons. The world-renowned sandstone formation stands 348 m high above sea level with most of its bulk below the ground, and measures 9.4 km in circumference. Uluru appears to change color as the different light strikes it at different times of the day and year.

The Great Barrier Reef is the planet’s largest coral reef system, with some 3,000 individual reefs and 900 islands stretching for 2,600 km over an area of approximately 344,400 square km. It is the biggest single structure made by living creatures and can be seen from outer space.
written by
The author didn‘t add any Information to his profile yet.
No Responses to “New7Wonders of Nature”

Leave a Reply